Car insurance rates in Florida differ from one company to another and coverage options are based on personal factors such as age, credit history, and driving record. If you are looking for cheapest car insurance rates in Florida then you must do a comparative analysis by visiting the websites of several car insurance companies and do thorough research before shortlisting the insurance company which meets your requirements.
Car insurance rates in the same city can vary from company to company; therefore drivers should gather multiple quotes from local and national auto insurers to get the best rates. The cheapest car insurance companies in Florida are Auto Insurance Orange, Florida Farm Bureau, USAA and GEICO. The rates differ depending upon where you live and your driving record among other factors. Location is one of the most important factors in the cost of insurance and car insurance prices can drastically defer from city to city in Florida.
The claims experience of each insurer is quite different as well so the prices within the city differ. In Florida, if you drive less or often use public transportation, you may be able to get cheaper car insurance. The average rate for a Florida driver with minimum coverage car insurance was $1,126 per year or about $94 per month. The light coverage is not recommended since it might not cover all the bills resulting from a car crash. If you are active military personnel or a retired veteran, chances are you will get a cheaper insurance rate, an option that is not available to the general public.
In case the crash has occurred due to your fault then you are liable to pay as per the Florida Financial Responsibility Law $10,000 in bodily injury liability per person and $20,000 in bodily injury liability per accident. Experts recommend that you have added protection from optional coverage such as collision and uninsured motorist insurance. Drivers convicted of certain offenses may be required to get an SR22 form filed by their insurance company in the state of Florida. It certifies that you have current auto insurance coverage in compliance with Florida law. An SR22 might be required if you got in an accident without insurance, your license is suspended due to too many points or you have severe and recent traffic violations on record.
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Florida, you need another form known as FR44. It is not insurance but the auto insurer must file an FR44 certificate on behalf of someone convicted of DUI (Driving under Influence of alcohol or drugs) or similar offenses. Your coverage under this plan should be $100,000 for injury or death to one person, $300,000 for injury or death of two or more people and $50,000 for property damage liability.
Florida is one of the several U.S. states that have a no-fault car insurance system. Under this statute, parties involved in crash first make injury claims to their PIP coverage. If injuries from the accident are considered “serious” under Florida law, the at-fault driver’s bodily injury liability pays for additional costs. Serious injuries include significant disfigurement, bone fracture, permanent limitation of a body organ or member and significant limitation of a body function or system. Injuries under these categories are grounds for a lawsuit in Florida. Drivers with bodily injury coverage can use it to pay for legal fees as well as the injured person’s medical costs but anyone with only the minimum required coverage would have to pay out-of-pocket if they were at fault. Drivers in Florida tend to pay more for car insurance on an average as compared to those in non-PIP states.