Ethiopia’s Gudaf Tsegay Breaks Women’s 1500m Indoor World Record

Gudaf Tsegay broke the women’s world record for the indoor 1500 metres on Tuesday, after posting a time of three minutes, 53.09 seconds during a meeting in Lievin. Ethiopian Tsegay beat by more than two seconds the previous record set by her compatriot Genzebe Dibaba in Karlsruhe in 2014. American Grant Holloway ran the second-fastest time ever in the men’s 60m hurdles, registering 7.32sec to leave him trailing only Colin Jackson’s world record of 7.30sec from 1994. “I’m not really surprised. I worked to do that. I’ve got to keep this dynamic and stay under 7.40 consistently,” said Holloway, the reigning 110m hurdles world champion.
Getnet Wale of Ethiopia fell 0.08sec short of the men’s 3000m indoor world record, his time of 7min 24.98sec just shy of Daniel Komen’s mark from 1998.

Jakob Ingebrigtsen won the men’s 1500m in 3min 31.80, the fifth-fastest indoor time in history and a new European record.

“I always want to run fast but it was my first race in 2021… Today it was really easy,” said the Norwegian.

Armand Duplantis won the men’s pole vault with a best of 5.86m, the Swede unable to replicate his weekend form in Rouen when he soared to a season-leading 6.03m.

The world record holder grimaced after clearing the bar at the first try and did not attempt another height, quickly putting on his tracksuit.

Listen to the latest songs, only on
Cuba’s Juan Miguel Echevarria, the 2018 indoor world champion, recorded a world-leading jump of 8.25 in the men’s long jump.

He overtook American Marquis Dendy’s effort of 8.21m set in Fayetteville, Arkansas on Sunday. Miltiadis Tentoglou matched that mark as he finished second to Echevarria in France.

The likes of Chinki Yadav and N. Gaayathri won their respective finals even as the more established names, such as Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhakar, fell behind on the first day of third and fourth trials for India’s rifle and pistol shooters. Four different teams emerged winners in the four finals in New Delhi on Tuesday. The trials (T3 and T4) are being held at the Dr Karni Singh Shooting Range. Haryana won the men’s 10m air pistol T3 trials through Shiva Narwal, while Tokyo Olympics quota holder Chinki helped Madhya Pradesh prevail in the women’s 25m pistol.
Also winning on the day were Tamil Nadu’s N. Gaayathri, who emerged triumphant in the women’s 50m rifle 3 positions (3P) T3 final and the Army’s Pankaj Kumar, who topped the men’s 10m air rifle T3 final. In the men’s 10m air pistol, Shiva shot a top-class 244.3 in the eight-man 24-shot final, leaving qualifying topper Ravinder Singh of the Army in second place.

Uttar Pradesh’s Saurabh Chaudhary, current world number four and also a Tokyo Games quota holder, matched Ravinder’s qualification score of 584 to make it to the finals in second spot, but finished third eventually with a score of 223.6.

Ravinder ended just 0.3 points behind Shiva in the final, but managed to beat Saurabh. It was a tough fight in the women’s 25m pistol, with another Olympic quota holder, Manu Bhaker of Haryana, topping the qualification with a score of 582.

Chinki qualified fourth with 579, but ahead of her in third place was Asian Games champion Rahi Sarnobat of Maharashtra, with a 581.

In the final however, Chinki got the better of both her higher ranked opponents, getting 37 hits out of a possible 50.

Rahi was second with 34, while Manu came in third with 30. In the men’s 10m air rifle, Punjab’s Arjun Babuta continued his good run in the trials, topping the 60-shot qualification with a quality 631.5.

Following Babuta into the final were Tokyo quota holders Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar of MP and the Air Force’s Deepak Kumar. N. Gaayathri was in prime finals form in the women’s 3P position.

She was only sixth in qualifying with a score of 1163, which was topped by MP’s Sunidhi Chauhan with a score of 1170.
Two Tokyo quota holders in the fray, Punjab’s Anjum Moudgil and Maharashtra’s Tejaswini Sawant, shot 1163 and 1162 respectively to make the finals in fourth and seventh positions respectively.

However, all fell short in the final of the event as Gaayathri won with a score of 457.7. Sunidhi was second with 456 while Odhisa’s Shriyanka Sadangi came third with 445.6. Anjum and Tejaswini finished fourth and fifth respectively.