MSc in Physics is considered to be a very comprehensive course for the students. MSC Physics is a degree or course of master of science in physics which is a two year programme. It mainly focuses on the fundamentals of physics and the subjects that are taught in it are quantum mechanics, classical mechanics, optics, astro physics, nuclear physics, spectroscopy, electronics etc. students generally want to know about the whole course structure msc physics syllabus, before getting into it, and so that it is easy for them to decide whether it’s the right pick or not. So if you also want to know about the syllabus of MSC in Physics, then you will find it out in this article below.


As you scroll down, you will find out complete details on MSC Physics, such as what is the 2 year syllabus of this programme, the whole course structure of it and much more. So just continue to read below to check out all the info.


Msc physics syllabus 


The syllabus of MSC Physics basically aims to provide students with the best methods of learning and techniques that are mainly used in the energy industries. In this particular course, students study about fields, like high energy physics, solid-state physics, materials science, nonlinear optics and more. So below is the breakdown of the general syllabus of the MSc physics semester-wise:


So the first year syllabus that is divided in two semesters are-


1. Semester 1- It includes subjects as follows-


 2. Classical Mechanics


3. Solid-State Physics- This is subject for technology, as it gives proper guidance to students on how to           design the circuits which is required for modern electronic devices.


4. Mathematical Physics


5. Quantum Mechanics


6. Fundamentals of MATLAB


7. Labs


Semester 2- Following subjects are taught in this semester-


1. Electronics


2. Renewable Energy Source- This is the energy source which is derived from the natural sources, and then replenished at a much higher rate than that they are consumed.


3. Statistical Mechanics- This applies to the probability theory to microscopic entities.


4. Atomic Physics


5. Spectroscope


6. Advanced Quantum Mechanics


Then, in the 2nd year, the msc physics syllabus is further divided in 2 semester as follows-


Semester 3- It consists of subjects like-


1.  Electromagnetics- This is a fundamental physics subject of electrical engineering and so it basically describes how electric charges create electricity. 


2. Nuclear Physics- This is a field in the subject of physics which studies about the atomic nuclei and their interactions and constituents.


3. Specialisation Subjects


4. Dissertation/Thesis-1


5. Semester 4- It has following subjects-


6. Open Elective- It describes an elective course which is available to other programmes students, consisting those of the same course as well.


7. Specialisation Subject- It is a course of study at some academic institution or might also refer to a field which is practised by specialists.


8. Dissertation/Thesis-1


Best books to cover the msc physics syllabus


Books are very important to cover the whole syllabus of all the subjects of MSC Physics. Books help students to get familiar with the subject-related concepts. They also have contextual illustrations which help students to understand even better and develop their interest in the subject as well. Basically, the physics based and other concepts in these books are helpful to students to understand the related matters in a much broader way. Not only this, but books provide questionnaires and descriptive analysis too.


So the books of MSC Physics are prepared in such a way that teachers and students both can understand well, and are upgraded based on the responses from them. There are many books which are available for students to study from, but if you are looking for the names of the best ones, then below listed are some of the best books to cover the whole msc physics syllabus which you should definitely purchase-


  1. Schaum’s Outlines Complex Variables- M.R Spiegel
  2. Mathematical methods for Physicists- Arfken
  3. Mathematical Physics- AK Ghatak and H.K. Dass
  4. Classical Mechanics- G. Aruldhas, John R. Taylor and J C Upadhaya
  5. Group Theory and Quantum Mechanics- M. Tinkham
  6. Modern Quantum Mechanics- J.J. Sakurai
  7. Schaum’s Outlines Group Theory- B. Baumslag and B. Chandler
  8. Principles of Quantum Mechanics- R. Shankar
  9. Quantum Mechanics- A.K. Ghatak and S. Lokanathan
  10. Integrated Electronics- Christos C Halikas and Jacob Millman
  11. Nuclear Physics- D.C. Tayal
  12. Introduction Nuclear Physics- Kenneth S. Krane
  13. Classical Electrodynamics- John Wiley & Sons and J.D Jackson
  14. Introduction to solid state physics- C. Kittel
  15. Nuclear Structure and Nuclear Reaction- P.E. Hodgson


MSC Physics Course Structure


The complete course of the MSC Physics course allows students to study a wide variety of elective and core subjects. In the 1st year of the course, students are taught and introduced to the basic fundamental subjects. And then, in the 2nd year, they are familiarised with some other specific subjects, that are majorly related to the specialisation chosen by them.


In addition to things mentioned above, students also get introduced to the sessions of the lab which help them to enhance their practical thinking. So the main target of the msc physics syllabus is to provide exposure to students of subjects like biophysics, classical mechanics, statistical mechanics, thermodynamics, atomic and molecular physics, condensed matter physics and electromagnetism. 


And this program completely prepares the students to increase their career responsibilities. Students also need to complete a research project, latest by the 2nd year end, so that they can obtain theoretical and practical knowledge both. Now, if we look at the structure of this course, it is as follows-


  1. Course divided into 4 semesters
  2. Consists of core subjects
  3. Includes elective subjects and some optional subjects
  4. Practical workshops
  5. Lab sessions and Lab subjects
  6. Research Projects and Thesis Submission


Entrance Exam Syllabus of MSC Physics


Now, as we know about the msc physics syllabus, best books to study from and the whole course structure, let us look at the topics or the entrance exam syllabus of MSC Physics, as follows-


  1. Optics and Thermodynamics
  2. Mathematical Methods and Oscillations
  3. Kinetics Theory and Modern Physics
  4. Mechanics and General Properties of Matter
  5. Solid State Physics, Electronic and Devices
  6. Magnetism and Electricity & Waves