The nine emotions (navarasa) that form the basis of Indian art and culture are examined in the nine-part anthology series Navarasa. Every episode stands alone as a unique tale about love, sorrow, joy, rage, fear, and everything in between.
The stories in the series are set in a variety of settings in India and feature a diverse cast of characters from many walks of life. Each episode’s distinctive and enduring graphic design captures the range of emotions being explored.

The artistically magnificent and emotionally stirring television series Navarasa highlights the complete spectrum of human emotion. Anyone who enjoys compelling narratives, stunning sights, and thought-provoking investigations of the human heart must see it.

1: Shanta (Peace)

This episode chronicles the journey of a young woman who discovers tranquilly amidst upheaval. She is a refugee who was had to escape her country, yet she finds comfort in the modest pleasures of life, including the allure of the natural world and the generosity of strangers.

The young woman is continuously surrounded by violence and peril in the episode’s war-torn setting. She is able to find serenity, though, even in the most unlikely locations, like a bombed-out structure or a camp for refugees.
The episode examines the strength of optimism and fortitude in the face of difficulty. It demonstrates how there is always hope for peace, even in the worst of circumstances.

2: Hasya (Laughter)

A bunch of buddies take a road trip together in this comedic episode. Even though they run into all kinds of difficulties, they always manage to find the humour in things.
The companions are followed as they journey across India, where they come across a number of bizarre and humorous incidents. They wind up in a Bollywood film, get lost in the desert, and are pursued by monkeys.
The episode honours friendship and the healing power of humour. It demonstrates how, even during the most trying circumstances, laughing can help us deal with our issues and find joy in life.

3: Raudra (Anger)

The thriller in this episode centres on a woman who is looking for her missing spouse. She is motivated by rage, but if she wants to find him, she must also learn to restrain it.
The woman is followed throughout the episode as she journeys across India looking for any hints that might help her find her spouse. The possibility that he might be dead plagues her continuously, and she continually fears that she will be consumed by her rage.
The devastating potential of anger is examined in this episode. It demonstrates how rage may impair judgement and cause us to act hastily. It also demonstrates how, when used appropriately, anger can be a strong force for good.

4: Karuna (Sadness)

In this dramatised episode, a family is mourning the death of a loved one. They must discover a way to get over their grief and carry on with their lives.
The family is followed throughout the show as they struggle to accept their loss. They feel a variety of emotions, including grief, rage, and guilt. Additionally, they discover how to rely on one another for assistance throughout this trying period.
The episode examines the various grieving processes. It demonstrates the fact that there is no right or wrong way to grieve and that everyone deals with it in their own way. It also demonstrates how grief can be a potent catalyst for transformation since it can teach us to value the things in life.

5: Veera (Heroism)

This episode tells the thrilling tale of a squad of troops engaged in combat. To defend their nation, they must face their fears and put their lives in danger.
The soldiers’ battles with the enemy are followed throughout the episode. They feel a variety of emotions, including fear, courage, and resolve. In order to accomplish their objectives, they also learn how to function as a team.
The definition of heroism is examined in this episode. It demonstrates how courage is not about being fearless but rather about facing your anxieties and acting morally. It also demonstrates how bravery can be found in the most unexpected places, such as in the deeds of regular individuals who risk their lives for others.

6: Bhayangkara (Fear)

Fear, also known as bhayangkara or “fear” in English, is a strong and primitive feeling that all living things experience. It is a normal reaction to perceived threats or risks that sets off a cascade of bodily and mental processes. Fear can act as a protective mechanism, guiding people away from potentially dangerous circumstances.

Fear physiologically triggers the body’s “fight or flight” response, causing the release of stress chemicals like cortisol and adrenaline. In order to prepare the body to either face the threat head-on or flee from it, these hormones cause an increase in heart rate, blood pressure, and breathing rate.

7: Abhimana (Pride)

This episode tells the coming-of-age tale of a young man who is having identity issues. Even if it means defying his family and friends’ expectations, he must learn to accept himself for who he is.

8. Shringara (Love)

A romantic comedy about two people who fell in love against all the odds is featured in this episode. If they want to be together, they must get past their differences and develop trust.

9. Vishada (Despair)

In this tragic story, a man loses all he cares about. In the middle of despair, he must figure out how to start over in life and rediscover hope.