9GEMS is an international education company that awards qualified students with financial aid. The company provides financial assistance through the 9GEMS Scholarship, which supports the less privileged school-going children.

Besides that, it also aims to provide academic support to reduce school dropouts, especially among girls.

This article will provide you with relevant information about the curricula applicable to the 9GEMS Scholarship. In case you want your child to apply and benefit from the 9GEMS scholarships, let us first understand the 9GEMS teaching methodology.

9GEMS Teaching Methodology

It is made up of rules and needs (Learning and Development) to be used by experts while caring for children as young as 5 years of age. Staff at international schools in Kuala Lumpur are specialized in providing care for children. Additionally, they are required to register under the childcare act to operate and get recognized as legal experts. The program formulated for all children is made up of:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Arts
  • Physical development
  • Language and communication
  • Social, personal and emotional development

To add, the learning and development needs enables the child to do the following activities.

  • Start forming simple sentences.
  • Use written language while playing and learning.
  • Write simple sentences and words using phonic knowledge.

Curricula that are Applicable for 9GEMS Scholarship

9GEMS scholarships are awards offered to deserving students in 9Gems schools under the 9Gems Company. The 9Gems Scholarship has several curricula, which include;

The American Curriculum

It is one of the 9Gems Scholarship curricula offered by American International Schools Worldwide and recognized by the Canadian and United States Universities. It admits students of all ages and those from different nationalities.
It also revolves around student-centered planning and inquiry-based learning. Furthermore, the curriculum provides tests benchmarked by American International Schools Worldwide, leading to advanced placement tests and SAT to assist the university in admitting students.

The British Curriculum

Also known as the National Curriculum of England, the British Curriculum is a comprehensive and student-centered education system covering almost all disciplines. This system uses several teaching methodologies for tracking the progress of the student.
This curriculum encourages students to be independent using a designed map that guides them in all their education stages to meet their goals without any hassle.
Apart from that, the British Curriculum is designed to help students embrace critical thinking, planning, and decision-making and help young children face life challenges. The curricula also equip the teacher with the relevant skills to develop good relationships and shape students’ behavior.

International Baccalaureate

This curriculum was established in 1969 and is taught in almost 2900 schools worldwide. It was designed to help students with relevant skills to apply them in the real-life world. Moreover, it has three programs, which include:

  • The Primary Years Programme is also known as (PYP) for young people aged 3 to12
  • The Middle Years Programme, also known as (MYP) for students aged 11 to 16
  • The Diploma Programme is also known as (DP) for young people aged 16 to 19

The curriculum uses an independent research model with balanced subjects to develop a lifelong passion for learning in children.

Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)

Central Board of Secondary Education was formed to serve private and public schools under India’s Union Government. It is also available in more than 24 countries across the world. Additionally, it conducts final examinations for students in classes 10 and 12 in March every year.

The syllabus is well structured and ensures that textbooks are used to impart knowledge and skills to students. The secondary level curriculum focuses on Humanities, Mathematics Science and Technology, commerce, Performing arts and Visual, Health and Physical Education, Science and Technology and Mathematics. The CBSE curriculum prepares students at the end of grade 10 and those at the end of grade 12 for the ALL India Senior School Certificate Examination.

Furthermore, students must obtain 33% overall in both theory and practical examinations to be promoted to the next level. Those students who fail to attain the pass mark can do the special exam for that particular subject. Besides, students who fail in two or more compartment subjects are subjected to re-do all the subjects in the following year.

Its primary focus is on academics, extra-curricular activities, and Indian culture.

IGCSE (British International pre-IB)

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education checks on the subjects that the student excels in to promote them to the next level. To add, the syllabus is applicable from year ten up to year 11 in some schools. This syllabus is divided into three:

The Cambridge IGCSE

These exams are set by the International Certificate of Education. Moreover, they are set to be conducted in February, May, and October, then the results are released in May, August, and October. The students who excel are awarded Distinction, Merit, and Pass, respectively.

9Gems Scholarship has different curricula that will enable students to build and develop relevant skills to become responsible citizens and future leaders. This article has provided you with different curricula to help you make an informed decision before applying for the 9Gems Scholarship.