Every year, the UK’s Ministry of Transport conducts an examination known as the MOT test to make sure that all cars are roadworthy and safe to drive. The kind of vehicle and its intended purpose establish the test classes, and each class has standards that must be fulfilled. We will define MOT test courses and describe their operation in this post.


What are MOT Classes?

A car is placed into one of eight MOT classes when it gets its yearly MOT. There are eight MOT classes:


Class 1: Motorcycles (with engines up to 200cc) with or without sidecars

Class 2: Motorcycles (with engines larger than 200cc), sidecars included or not

Class 3: three-wheeled vehicles (unladen weight up to 450 kg)

Class 4: Vehicles (up to 3,000 kg of unladen weight): Cars, vans, and RVs

Class 5: Play buses, personal passenger automobiles, and ambulances with 13–16 and more than 16 seats

Class 5a: Cars in Class 5 that have had their seatbelt installations checked

Class 7: Vehicles carrying goods (three thousand to three,500 kg design gross weight)

Class 8: Cars carrying goods (design gross weight exceeding 3,500 kg)


How Are MOT Tests Conducted?


Several inspections are performed on your car during a MOT test, including everything from the brakes and lights to the safety belts, mirrors, wipers, and tires. The majority of cars (electric vehicles excluded) will also have their pollution levels checked as part of the MOT; if they are too high, your car will not pass. A number of other frequent causes of MOT failures for numerous cars include:


  • worn-out brake disks or pads
  • worn-out or damaged tires
  • shattered or impaired lights
  • overly excessive emissions from the exhaust
  • worn-out or damaged suspension parts


At a MOT testing facility under DVSA regulation, the test is performed by a qualified and experienced technician. The vehicle will be examined by the tester in accordance with DVSA criteria, and the tester retains the final say over whether each vehicle passes or fails. You will receive a list outlining the problems and the necessary repairs if your car fails the MOT test. Before you are able to drive your car on public roads once more legally, you will need to get the required repairs completed and have it retested.


MOT Annual Instruction

To make sure they are knowledgeable about the most recent testing standards and methods, MOT testers must finish an annual training and evaluation program. The purpose of this required training is to guarantee that testers are capable and up to date on the most recent testing specifications. The MOT annual training curriculum includes a variety of subjects, such as:

  • Modifications to MOT testing
  • Updated testing protocols
  • Updates on vehicle technology
  • Safety and health guidelines


MOT Login

The process of gaining access to a private online portal for MOT-related services is known as MOT login. The following websites provide MOT login services:



Users must provide their login information, which may consist of a password and an email address or a combination of both, in order to access these portals. As an added security measure, some portals can also need a code. Users can typically reset their password by entering their email address and other confidential data if they forget their login details.




In summary, the MOT test is an annual examination mandated by the UK’s Ministry of Transport to guarantee that all vehicles meet standards for roadworthiness and safety. The sort of vehicle and its intended usage decide which of the eight MOT classes it falls into, and each class has standards that must be fulfilled. At a DVSA-regulated MOT testing centre, a qualified and certified tester performs the MOT test; the tester has the final say over whether to pass or fail each presented vehicle. To make sure they are knowledgeable about the most recent testing requirements and methods, MOT testers must finish an annual training and evaluation program.