The provision for medicinal and recreational marijuana is a legality in Maine. On November 2016, Maine voters passed Ballot Question 1 to legally the consummation of cannabis for recreation in Maine. The residents of Maine voted in 1999 for the enactment of the Banned Marijuana Act to allow the cultivation, possession, and consumption of cannabis. The Act allows agreement of anyone who is of the age 21 and above to be carrying 2. The amount of an amount or a quantity is provided, not less than 5 ounces (71 grams) of the product, which contain no more than 0. 2 oz (5 grams) of marijuana concentrate for personal use.

Before the legalization of marijuana for recreational use in Maine, Maine had passed the State of Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act in 1999. Legalize Medical Marijuana Act enables the registered patients having certain medical ailments to use medical marijuana to treat or reduce the effects of their medical issue. The Maine Medical Marijuana program that is managed by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services or DPHS. There are limited qualifying medical conditions comprising of cancer, glaucoma, Crohn’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, chronic pain, seizures and cachexia.

The felony Limits for marijuana possession in Maine are being Increased to 2.5oz not more than 5 plants. The possession of marijuana is permitted in Maine, unless it is exceeding the foresee level. 30% of the amount of marijuana (71 grams) contained not more than 0.3% of THC (0.009%). The allowable limit is 2 ounces (5 grams) of marijuana concentrate for recreation use as well as.

Factors that determine penalties for violating marijuana laws in Maine include:

Age: The Prime Legalization Act of Drug Crimes in Maine comes with an age threshold of 21 years and above to be legal possession and use of cannabis. The individuals, who are young below the age of 18 years, carry marijuana may be punished, whereas the person, who gives, distributes, or shares marijuana with a minor, can be tried.

Being in possession of at least 16 ounces (454 grams) up to 20 pounds (9 kg) of marijuana which is a Class C crime, a person may potentially be imprisoned for up to 5 years and/or be fined not more than $5,000. It is assumed that anyone with more than 16 ounces (or 1 pound) of cannabis is likely to be engaged in distribution or reselling. Carrying over 20 pounds (about 9 kg) is a Class B crime, that punishment is a money penalty of $20,000 and up to 10 years imprisonment.

Location: Consuming public or federal property remained illegal as Maine only allowed recreational marijuana to its residents. Moreover, the usage or ownership of weeds on the federal government’s property can be charged as a felony.

The Question Now Is, What Is an Offense Known as The Possession of Weed First Offense in Maine?

In Maine, the law treats marijuana as a Schedule Z drug and it allows adults of legal age (21 years or older) to possess and use small quantities of it.

However, first-time minor offenders face the following penalties:

Cracking down of 25 ounces (35 grams) of usable marijuana by minors would incur a fine that is ranging between $350 to $600.

A light that hiding beneath 0.5micrometer could be critical to the discoveries of multi-planetary systems. The bar of chocolate is 25 ounces (70 grams) and the granola bar is 2 ounces (50 grams). Imports of 5 ounces (71 grams) of cannabis may be penalized with a cost between $700 and $1,000.

An offender can be set on probation, fined, or be undergo drug supportive education as a replacement of community services. For further discussion do contact with the professional Drug Crime Lawyer in Maine, so he/she can guide you thoroughly according to your specific case.