If you are involved in a significant car accident in Michigan, you are obligated by law to submit a police report if there is physical injury or property damage worth at least $1,000. If you do not file a traffic crash report with the police, you may forfeit your right to seek personal injury compensation for the car accident.

In your vehicle accident claim, knowing when and where to file a police report is crucial. If you have been involved in a terrible car accident and need assistance pursuing compensation, the Michigan personal injury attorneys at Haque Legal Law firm may be able to assist you.

When Is It Necessary to Report an Accident?

The state of Michigan is extremely explicit about the circumstances that necessitate motorists filing a police report following an automobile accident. Excessive damage, causing harm to an unattended vehicle or other property, or situations of death or bodily injury are examples.

Damage In Excess Of $1,000

If you are involved in a collision and the damage to your car exceeds $1,000, you must submit a police report. This may even be a fender bender. This standard applies to total damage, not just to your vehicle. Car repairs are fairly costly, so even if you are unsure of the overall cost of the damage, you should definitely file a police report just to be safe.

You Collided with A Parked Car

You must call the police and file a report if you hit a parked car, especially one that is unattended. Failure to do so leads in a hit-and-run accident, which is prohibited in practically every state, not just Michigan. Other fines may apply if you do not obtain compensation from your insurance carrier.

How Long Do You Have in Michigan to File a Police Report After a Car Accident?

When you are involved in an accident that causes $1,000 or more in property damage, injures or kills anybody, or damages unattended property, you must immediately report the accident. You can do this by dialing 911 or going to the nearest police station. While the law does not define “immediately,” it is typically recommended that the accident be reported within 24 hours.

In reality, your vehicle insurance company claims process may demand you to file a report within 24 hours when it comes to your car insurance claim. This stipulation is common in auto insurance policies from several insurance companies. This means that if you do not file a police complaint, you may be denied the right to claim benefits under your insurance policy, regardless of whether you are at fault.

Do You Want to Get Everything You Deserve? A Police Report Is Essential

If you are involved in a car accident in Michigan, it is always best practice to file a police report right away, or within 24 hours of the accident. If you leave the site without filing a report or exchanging information with the other drivers, you will be charged with leaving the scene without filing a report.

After filing the report, you must contact an expert car accident lawyer in Michigan. We have decades of experience representing clients & get their compensation that they deserve. To request a free consultation, please call us or fill out our online contact form.